Friendship Schools

Academy Programs

Challenging and relevant, Collegiate Academy’s comprehensive curriculum prepares scholars for college and the workforce in a global economy. We are divided into four content-specific Academies and one 9th grade Academy to foster a smooth transition between middle school and high school. Our Academy structure equips scholars with the necessary tools to be successful in areas of Fine Arts, Health Sciences, and Information Technology & Engineering, as well as all aspects of a college career.
 
9th grade Academy

The 9th Grade Academy is designed to assist with a seamless transition between middle school and high school. The Academy supports a multi-faced approach to student success involving academics, behavior, and attendance to ensure scholarly success and rigorous coursework for all learners. The 9th Grade Academy provides the educational foundation that scholars need in order to be successful in FCA’s four premier academies: Fine Arts, Early College, Health Sciences and Information Technology; enrollment in these academies begins in the 10th grade.

 

Lauren Johnson, 9th Grade Academy Director (ljohnson4@friendshipschools.org)
Darryl Womack, 9th Grade Dean of Students (dwomack@friendshipschools.org)
Sterk Amoa-Mensah, 9th Grade Counselor (samoa-mensa@friendshipschools.org)
 
Fine Arts Academy (FA)

Within the Fine Arts Academy, scholars have the option to major in one of the five pathways: Vocal, Instrumental, Dance, Visual and Drama.  Each pathway is designed to give scholars a hands-on learning opportunity that culminates in a showcase. Fine Arts graduates develop a range of practical and creative skills that sets them aside from others in the field. Scholars build portfolios, exhibitions, competed in competitions and will have been exposed to professionals in their field.

 

Tariauna Duran, Fine Arts Academy Director (tduran@friendshipschools.org)
Calvin Green Fine Arts Dean of Students (cgreen@friendshipschools.org)
Tisa Holley, Fine Arts Counselor (tholley@friendshipschools.org)
 
Early College Academy (EC)

The Early College Academy allows highly motivated students the opportunity to take an array of AP and dual enrollment college courses, such as English Composition, Psychology, Biology, Economics, Business and Sociology and many are awarded college scholarships for the academic achievements. In addition, scholars can take coursework at local universities, for example: University of Maryland at College Park, The George Washington University, Georgetown University, Trinity Washington University, University of the District of Columbia, and UDC-Community College.  As Early College students engage in the breadth of university study, they benefit from tutorials, mentorship opportunities, career internships, colloquiums, seminars and lectures.

 

Arsallah Shairzay, Early College Academy Director (ashairzay@friendshipschools.org)
Otis Ware, Early College Dean of Students (oware@friendshipschools.org)
Tisa Holley, Early College Counselor (tholley@friendshipschools.org)
 
Academy of Health Science (AOHS)
The Academy of Health Sciences (AOHS) exposes students to Clinical Rotations, Dentistry, Sports Medicine and Project- Lead-the-Way courses (Biomedical Science, Human Body Systems, & Medical Intervention), and Health Sciences courses (Foundations of Health & Microbiology). AOHS scholars are members of Health Occupational Students of America (HOSA), a national student organization, whose mission is to promote career opportunities in the health care industry and to enhance the delivery of quality health care to all people.

Teana Fields, Health Science Academy Director (tfields@friendshipschools.org)
Otis Ware, Health Science Dean of Students (oware@friendshipschools.org)
Victoria Wilkerson, Health Science Counselor (vwilkerson@friendshipschools.org)
 
Academy of Information Technology & Engineering (AOIT)
The Academy of Information Technology & Engineering (AOIT-E) is designed to prepare students for careers in engineering, networking, programming, software development and architectural design. We offer nationally-certified NAF courses (Computer Systems, Digital Video Production, Graphic Design, Web Design, Programming, Microsoft Certification, CISCO) and Project-Lead-the-Way (PLTW) Engineering Courses (Introduction to Engineering, Principles of Engineering, Digital Electronics, and Engineering Design and Development). All scholars participate in a paid internship and achieve industry certifications in either Microsoft, Adobe, PLTW or CISCO.
 
Cara Gafford, AOIT Academy Director (cgafford@friendshipschools.org)
Latrail Hayes, AOIT Dean of Students (lhayes@friendshipschools.org)
Cameron Cuttler, AOIT Counselor (ccuttler@friendshipschools.org)
 
All students may also take Advanced Placement (AP) classes beginning as early as the 9th grade. Offerings include Chemistry, Biology, English Language and Composition, World History, Economics, Computer Science, Physics, and more. AP courses meet each day for 90 minutes for two semesters.